ST. LOUIS (USBWA/SMU) – SMU Head Coach Tim Jankovich was named the U.S. Basketball Writers Association District VII Coach of the Year, and junior Semi Ojeleye was named to the All-District VII team. Jankovich has guided the No. 12/15 Mustangs to a 27-4 mark and the outright American Athletic Conference regular season title (17-1).

Ojeleye ranks near the top of the American Athletic Conference in points (18.5, 3rd AAC), rebounds (6.5, 16th AAC), field goal percentage (48.4, 9th AAC) and 3-point percentage (43.1, 2nd AAC). The junior has scored 10 or more points in 30 of 31 games, including the last 23, and has 20 or more points in 11 contests this season. He was also named to the CoSIDA Academic All-American second team, making him the third Academic All-American in SMU men’s basketball history. At the conference level, Ojeleye has been The American Player of the Week twice along with earning AAC Weekly Honor Roll six times.

Jankovich, who is one of 10 semifinalists for the Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year award, owns the best winning percentage by an NCAA coach at their current school (.900, 36-4) and has the most wins among coaches in their first full season at their current school.  SMU has won 13 straight and 23 of its last 24 games. SMU ranks third in the nation in scoring defense (59.4), eighth in field goal defense (38.5) and third in rebound margin (+9.8). The Mustangs are also sixth in scoring margin (+15.2), 13th in three-point field goal percentage (40.3), 21st in turnovers (10.7) and seventh in assist-to-turnover ratio (+1.54).

This is the second consecutive season a Mustang has earned all-district honors. Two-time All-American and two-time AAC Player of the Year Nic Moore was recognized last season.

Top-seeded SMU plays in The American Championship quarterfinal round at XL Center in Hartford, Connecticut, on Friday at 12 p.m. ET/11 a.m. CT. The Mustangs will face the winner of Thursday’s first-round matchup between No. 8 seed Temple and No. 9 seed East Carolina (TV: ESPN2, Radio: KAAM 770, TuneIn).

Jarrett Allen, Texas
Tyler Davis, Texas A&M
Keenan Evans, Texas Tech
Rob Gray, Houston
Kevin Hervey, Texas-Arlington
Moses Kingsley, Arkansas
Manu Lecomte, Baylor
Erik McCree, Louisiana Tech
*Johnathan Motley, Baylor
Semi Ojeleye, SMU
*District VII Player of the Year

Tim Jankovich, SMU

Please follow and like us: